Main page > About the company > News and mailing > Jurisdictions news > EU put 17 countries in its tax heaven blacklist

EU put 17 countries in its tax heaven blacklist


The European Union made the first blacklist of tax heavens and put 17 countries in it.

The countries in the list are: American Samoa, Bahrain, Barbados, Grenada, Guam, Macau, the Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Namibia, Palau, Panama, Saint Lucia, Samoa, South Korea, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia and the United Arab Emirates.

Моreover, 47 countries were also placed in a «grey list» which are also deemed non-compliant, but have committed to changing their tax rules.

The creation of the lists was followed by the recent leaking of the Panama Papers and the Paradise Papers.

For the purpose of determining a "non-cooperative jurisdiction" the EU counts the transparency of its tax regime and tax rates. It also verify whether the tax system encourages multinationals to unfairly shift profits to low tax regimes, avoiding higher duties in other states.

The Commission of the EU will continue to examine and control all jurisdictions closely in order to ensure that their commitments are fulfilled and to determine whether any other countries should be listed in the future.


Back to the list news

Quickly and confidentially.
A qualified expert will give you a free consultation by telephone, help to determine the position and make an appointment at any time that suits you.
Call just now by phone: +44 203 608 22 48
E-mail us:


04/01/2019 11:45:00

The registry of beneficiaries in Cyprus will be introduced on January 1st, 2020

 Since January 1st, 2020, a register of final beneficiaries w ...

Read more

03/22/2019 11:42:00

Global Forum on the definition of beneficial owners

On March 20th, in the framework of the OECD Global Forum together ...

Read more

03/18/2019 11:41:00

Did the exchange with the UK stop?

On March 15th, 2019 Great Britain excluded Russia from the list of ...

Read more