Main page > About the company > News and mailing > Jurisdictions news > In the UAE adopted a new tax law

In the UAE adopted a new tax law


In the UAE, the federal law No. 7 of 2017, which is fundamental for tax procedures, was signed. It regulates a clear set of general procedures and rules that should be applied to all tax laws in the UAE (VAT and Excise Tax Laws) and clearly identifies the relevant rights and obligations of the Federal Tax Authority (FTA) and the taxpayer. The date of the entry into force of the Law has not yet been announced.

The new law is the basis for the UAE plan to introduce taxes "as a means of ensuring sustainability and diversifying the economy." Previously, Federal Decree-Law No. 13 of 2016 had already been adopted. On the establishment of the Federal Tax Authority (FTA), which is charged with implementing tax legislation in the UAE.

The main provisions of the new law:

 Any person involved in any type of business should keep accounts and commercial books "fixing" tax-related information as defined by law. Tax returns, data, information and documents must be provided to the tax authority in Arabic.
 It is necessary to keep financial statements for the last 5 years.
 In accordance with the law, a register of tax agents is created in the tax authority, in which files for each agent documenting its actions will be stored. It is not permissible for any person to practice the profession of tax agent in the UAE.

We remind that the UAE will introduce VAT at the rate of 5% from January 1, 2018. Tax in the UAE will not be subject to basic food products (94 items), medical and educational services.

A source:

Back to the list news

Quickly and confidentially.
A qualified expert will give you a free consultation by telephone, help to determine the position and make an appointment at any time that suits you.
Call just now by phone: +44 203 608 22 48
E-mail us:


03/15/2018 18:58:00

Three jurisdictions removed, three added to EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions

On 13 March 2018, the Council of Europe removed Bahrain, the Marshall ...

Read more

01/30/2018 18:28:00

Six States Signed The BEPS Multilateral Instrument

On 24 January 2018 Barbados, Cote d'Ivoire, Jamaica, Malaysia, Pan ...

Read more

12/06/2017 10:44:00

EU put 17 countries in its tax heaven blacklist

The European Union made the first blacklist of tax heavens and put ...

Read more